Resources: grants and award available for your historic project

Garavaglia Architecture, Inc., wanted to let you know that there are grant and award opportunities available that you may not be aware of:

Conservation Assessment Program (CAP)

The Conservation Assessment Program (CAP) is a program administered by Heritage Preservation, the National Institute for Conservation and provides a general conservation assessment of your museum’s collection, environmental conditions, and site. Conservation priorities are identified by professionals and the report can help your museum develop strategies for improved collections care and provide a tool for long-range planning and fund-raising.

The 2018 application is now available!

Save America’s Treasure’s Grants

The National Park Service has $5 million of Save America’s Treasures grants which provide preservation and/or conservation assistance to nationally significant historic properties and collections.

For more information visit the NPS awards website.

National Endowment for the Humanities Grant

The National Endowment for the Humanities recently announced a a new grant program to create and sustain humanities infrastructure. Grants aim to help institutions secure long-term support for their core activities and expand efforts to preserve and create access to outstanding humanities materials.Applications are welcome from colleges and universities, museums, public libraries, research institutions, historical societies and historic sites, scholarly associations, state humanities councils, and other nonprofit humanities entities.

Information about the 2018 grant is available here.

2018 California Governor’s Historic Preservation Awards

This award is for  individuals, projects, organizations, or agencies whose work exemplifies the best in historic preservation in California. Projects are for restoration, rehabilitation or adaptive use of historic buildings, structures, sites or cultural landscapes; or activities related to the identification, protection, and interpretation of historic and prehistoric resources.

Click here for the 2018 awards nomination form.